Vintage Jesus…Vintage Stuff?

18 Apr

Well I make it absolutely no secret that I’m a big Driscol fan. His first two books, “The Radical Reformission” and “Confessions of a Reformission Rev.” I found hugely entertaining and informative. I liked his style, I found the content useful and truthful, I even liked the cover and the formatting of the pages!

So, with eager anticipation, I pre-ordered a copy of Vintage Jesus (about 5months in advance). It was the Sermon series of the same name (and content) that had got me hooked on the guy in the first place. A brilliant series that I recommend Christians of all maturity listen to. So when I heard it was going to be a book, complete with very sexy cover (see above) I thought, “Great, a chance to revisit the sermon series I enjoyed so much and make Jon think I can read!”

And it arrived, about 2days before it was released, 2days before Jon could get hold of it in the conference he was attending with Mark himself. I dove straight in.

The thing is, it was a massive disappointment. Now I love MD’s style. It’s brash, it’s ‘aggressive’ (I’d call it passionate) it mixes up levels of lingo. But the book, well let’s just say it could very well have been written in bullet points. Fact after fact after fact. A very odd read indeed. He starts every chapter with some token tounge in cheek, just it doesn’t seem to come across in this book. The most used phrase in the book is, “Furthermore,” time after time. It just doesn’t read!

One glint of sunshine breaking through though were the little bits at the end of each chapter written Gerry Breshears. He wrote a lot like Driscol did in his first two books. Much more readable.

Yes it’s got a sexy cover (I like covers being sexy) but I don’t think I’ll bother lending it to anyone else.

3/4 Fish

5 Responses to “Vintage Jesus…Vintage Stuff?”

  1. Jonny Raine 24/04/2008 at 3:09 pm #

    That’s a pity. I would’ve expected more from him. Good on you for not just loving it because it’s him, but of course you would, you’re as straight talkingly honest as…well…a straight talkingly honest bloke!

  2. Larry 24/04/2008 at 4:20 pm #

    Hehe tis interesting as I didnt find this book that good either. I will prob use it for reference occasionally but in terms of reviewing the content i think the sermon series is better.
    I have to disagree though… the cover naffs me off big time.
    recommendation – the glory of Christ – john Owen – v readable v profitable for the reader!
    question… what do you make of the in world not of the world issue which crops up so often with driscoll… i guess the classic positions are either Piperesque (doesnt have a tv) or Driscoll (has 2 in his study!) … any thoughts there? where do you draw the line? do you find legalism oft rears its head behind what u do or dont do? just thoughts…

  3. sammydaviesjr 25/04/2008 at 10:04 am #

    Not sure what you mean about it croping up often with driscol. For me though I think we need to have televisions, they play such a big part in peoples lives that it would be proper weird for us not to, we’d be out of touch! Although there are other ways of having paticular tv shows i.e. DVD or iplayers, i think it’s important for us to be able to engage on this level with people.

  4. dave 06/06/2008 at 2:34 pm #

    It suffers from the same problem as some Piper books – busy author writing lots of books. Good stuff but are we going to get lots of re-readable books if he’s producing quite so many each year, and will they end up just rehashing (really good) stuff,,,,

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What to read next? « Saint Beagle - 17/10/2008

    […] the same for the Book You’ll Actually Read series (of which I’ve read OT and NT) which once again were a real let down. I’m not sure if it’s because they were aimed at a level lower […]

Leave a Reply

