Facebook, friends and peeking from the bushes

5 Jun

How many friends do you have? How many friends do you have on facebook? I was thinking the other day why I had so many friends on facebook? The truth is I’ve probably communicated with less than half since I/they added me/them. Do I want to communicate with a lot of them? Probably not. The truth is I’ve really added people for two reason:

1) to make my balance look big. Everyone loves to have lots of friends (or to be able to say they have lots of friends at least)

2) and here’s the big one, just so I can spy on them. Even people i have no interest in getting to know better, I want to know what their up to, who they are friends with, the kinds of things they say and the relationships they get into.

Does that make me a voyeur? Without actually knowing what that means I think it does. But this isn’t just me admitting some sort of fetish is it? If we’re honest, facebook serves this purpose for us all.

But why?

2 Responses to “Facebook, friends and peeking from the bushes”

  1. Larry 06/06/2008 at 8:44 am #

    It helps us be judgemental “Did you see the pictures on Fb? they were so drunk – appalling”
    Because we dont find our own lives interesting or satisfying- It is reflective of a society that is so seeped in banality we would rather watch other people screw up their own lives and consider ourselves better than them (BB, the apprentice, etc)
    Cos occasionally we like to see other people doing well. Though to be honest how often is the last one the case? Facebook could be used as an amazing prayer aid – praying through friend lists and in response to their statuses/internet lives but i know i dont use FB for this

    Lastly is all this Bebo/Myface/Urkit/Faceblock stupidty a sign of laziness – we would rather have an internet life which we can turn off when WE want than a real life which requires some degree of committment and perseverance)

  2. sammydaviesjr 20/05/2010 at 1:34 pm #

    Just re-read your comment Larry. Praying through facebook is a genius idea. Lets get on it!

Leave a Reply

