Entering the World of Work

7 Oct

Is a very odd experience.

Those of you who know me will know that rather than finding a job when I left university a job found me. That is to say my Church from ‘back home’ offered me a 2 year apprenticeship. So, no hunting or applying needed, just taking. Come the end of the two years (or more rightly 6 months before the end) I was required to start looking for a job, a real job, in the world of work…

I was not prepared for the frustration that would ensue, the constant rejection (I applied for about 20 jobs before I got an interview…then got 4 after I’d finally gotten a job!!! Typical) and the need to actually hunt! Nor was I prepared for the physical strain it would put on me.

Previously (with the Church) i’d worked 5 minutes away from my house (= No commute), now I work about 1hr away (= 2hr every day). Previously, although my job involved a lot more ‘evening’ work, my hours were pretty flexible and really it was left up to my conscience. Now I have to keep a record of my hours and tell people when I’m at lunch.

What am I trying to say? Man do I miss working for the Church! It’s not that my job now is bad…I actually really like it, it’s relaxed and the people are great, but you know what they say, “you don’t know what you’ve got ’till it’s gone!” Doing the work of the Church for a living is a blessing, a real privilege. How could I not see that?!?! I think I was blinded by pride and ingorance!

I thank God though that He’s given me a kick up the bum that I needed and hopefully the motivation to do what is needed to get back there. I don’t have a desire to ‘Pastor’ a Church but all I really want to do with my life is encourage others with the Gospel and teach others the Bible & instill a hunger for it. That’s it. Pray that God would allow and that my hunger wouldn’t be lost.

Also check out my latest blog on http://theprognosis.org/2008/10/06/generic-work-related-title-here/

2 Responses to “Entering the World of Work”

  1. DOrchard 07/10/2008 at 11:55 pm #

    Samola… so… what’s the new gig then?

  2. sammydaviesjr 09/10/2008 at 11:28 am #

    Samola is now a Funds Administrator in the Money Advice and Support department of Swansea University. Essentially a financial advisor for students. Fun πŸ™‚

    (This afternoon I have an interview with UCCF about being an Associate Staff Worker here in Swansea too…now that will be fun!)

Leave a Reply

