Life Verse

16 Oct

I know a lot of people will think the idea of a ‘life verse’ is ridiculous. After all, “all scripture is God breathed and useful for…” But people of a slightly older generation (I am but a young pup of 24) very often quote a verse that has stuck with them and has had a large impact in their lives.

Recently a verse has been striking me quite a lot and I feel (and to be honest hope!) that it will be a life verse. That verse is Hebrews 2v1: “We must pay more careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away.”

To me this is a clear call to take our own spiritual maturity seriously and to, in the words of Jerry Bridges, preach the gospel to ourselves daily.

It’s something I hope to impart on those I lead a weekly bible study for, that their growth, their maturity, their blossoming into more fully devoted followers of Christ isn’t up to preacher preparing a good message or hoping that I can ask good, insightful questions. But rather it’s their responsibility and it’s something they need to be actively doing. There’s no way the authors (definitely not Paul) command to ‘pay more careful attention‘ can be a passive thing. It must be active!!!

Give a man a sermon and he’s fed for a day. Teach him to study Gods Word and he’s fed for a life time!

One Response to “Life Verse”

  1. Larry 16/10/2008 at 10:05 am #

    My life verse is the only thing keeping me up right now at 6am. Romans 8: 28, I cheat and have two btw, 1 Pet 3: 18 is just a winner every day off the year!

Leave a Reply

