What to read next?

17 Oct

So I’ve recently gotten through Humilty: True Greatness (a great read by the way) and Through Gates of Splendour (fascinating but pretty poorly writen). I am not that much of a reader. I tend to go through phases. I did really enjoy both these books and wish I could say the same for the Book You’ll Actually Read series (of which I’ve read OT and NT) which once again were a real let down. I’m not sure if it’s because they were aimed at a level lower than I hoped or whether it’s because they are totaly devoid of the style I liked so much in Driscols first two books (Confessions & Reformission). I really enjoyed both of those books because they blended Driscol infamous preaching style with some really applicable teachings.

Anyway, what shall I read next is the question and you have the chance to give the answer!

8 Responses to “What to read next?”

  1. Larry 17/10/2008 at 12:34 pm #

    ha, you have had 3 votes and each chose a different one. The Cross and Christian ministry is supposed to be fantastic. Why not read that normally and read History of Redemption on the loo.

    Could you give us a review of Humility? I gave my copy away and thus don’t know what vital pride slaying lessons the 2nd half of the book has!

  2. sammydaviesjr 17/10/2008 at 1:22 pm #

    I do not spend enough time on the loo for it to be a ‘reading opportunity.’ I’ve never understood how people do it. In, out 4min tops for me. So on those stats A History of Redemption would take a lifetime.

    The wife is currently reading “The Cross And Christian Ministry” (required reading because she has just become a leader in our Church). And the vibes are good.

    Full review of Humilty on the way. (Was it your copy I got? I thought you bought me a new one?!?)

  3. Larry 17/10/2008 at 1:46 pm #

    no i gave mine to someone else. If its a good loo i can sit and read for ten mins… i think you;ll enjoy all of them..

  4. sammydaviesjr 17/10/2008 at 1:49 pm #

    Next post: “Loo habits of the Young, Reformed and Restless”

  5. Jamie Hurd 17/10/2008 at 3:58 pm #

    One wonders whether Sammy actually does any work in Swansea seeing as he blogs everyday, well to be fair he finds time to illegally hack into my personal files!! Sammy Davies shame on you!

  6. sammydaviesjr 22/10/2008 at 10:09 am #

    Today is teh day I start to read it…watch this space

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Almost no blogging :o « Saint Beagle - 20/10/2008

    […] blogging done for the day there are a few posts in the offing. 1stly, at Larry’s request, a genuine review of Humility: True Greatness. Secondly (and thridly, forthly etc) a review of all […]

  2. Don da don don…so far. « Saint Beagle - 29/10/2008

    […] da don don…so far. You may remember that after a poll of my peers it was decided that the next book I read be Don Carsons, “The Cross and Christian […]

Leave a Reply

