Why the delay?

11 Nov

Check out theproGnosis.org, i’ve just posted something on the seriousness of Chpater 1 of Paul’s letter to the Galatians. But here I wanted to ask another question. Why the delay?

Why did Paul and the Apostles take so long to meet? Look at the end of chapter 1. In my mind getting together with the other leaders in the faith would have been a top priority. But for Paul, apparently not. Why? Or more to the point what does my likely action in this situation reveal about me? Paul was obviously all out for mission. I on the other hand would have prefered a conference first to prepare for the mission. Thoughts?

6 Responses to “Why the delay?”

  1. DOrchard 11/11/2008 at 11:40 pm #

    Communication difficulties? I imagine it would be very hard to organise a meeting between everyone when each party is moving from place to place reasonably rapidly- and given the communication times in those days….!!! Maybe! Just my $0.02.

  2. sammydaviesjr 12/11/2008 at 8:31 am #

    I have to say I disagree Dom. Not that communication wouldn’t have been a problem but really I think it was a difference in attitude. To me getting together with some other Christians to talk and pray it through would have been first choice (as it’s easiest). My hunch is Paul just wanted to share the Gospel. Simple as. He had Christians around him so there wasn’t a lack of fellowship. Just not this need which we seem to have today of getting into our huddles (which aren’t holy at all).

    Now we’re up to $0.04. Any more?

  3. Larry 12/11/2008 at 10:52 am #

    ill devalue ur 4 cents this evening when i get back… i had to gifure this out for rs a level but never did!! acts has two accounts of the same period of time which may complete the picture

  4. Larry 12/11/2008 at 2:19 pm #

    a) did Paul initially consider himself a top leader?
    b) The elders were in jerusalem, Paul seemed to be pretty big on the gentiles – cos Jesus called them (cf Acts 26 account, – hence his first priority was to go and preach to the gentiles. (Like you said; he didnt need Jewish Xians support in this it seems, and makes it pretty clear in Gal 1 that Jesus, not the other apostles taught him the Gospel… )

    c) Good old sammy being provocative… at first glance i thought you were slamming small groups but i realised this couldnt be cos u lead one!

    d) In acts they do have *conferences* in the truest sense of the word where elders get to gether and commission missionaries before they are sent off …

  5. sammydaviesjr 12/11/2008 at 6:01 pm #

    Yes well, we do read in Acts that he’s commissioned and sent out by the church in Antioch. So it’s not like I’m saying or indeed he means that getting together with other Christians wasn’t important.

    Rather I was contrasting Paul’s ‘lets o get ’em attitude’ with our ‘best have another meeting before we do that’. As I said originally (in my post) I think my first thought would have been to go have a little fellowship with the Apostles. Not Paul. What does that say about me?

  6. Larry 12/11/2008 at 6:16 pm #

    nothing that cant be applied to me.
    Sammy when are we going to go plant a church together? Based on “My power is made perfect in your weakness” i reckon it would work!

Leave a Reply

