As I couldn’t possibly post on prognosis…

12 Nov

Seriously, today is a no go over there. Logged in this morning and there was already a fresh post up and one in the queue! (Because there are 6 authors we tend to allow each post a day of coverage so often there is one in an unpublished state just waiting for the clock to strike 12). I was going to do a simple little post over here about how I finally got round to installing my spell check for Firefox (which means less spelling errors in my comments etc.) which I know will please some of you. So, seeing I have gotten that trivial piece of information out of the way, here’s the blog I wanted to post on the prog (and still may just to be lazy and because I hope it might kick off a small series).

Why did Jesus come to die?

Now we all know the answer, we learnt it in Sunday School. Jesus came to die for or sins. Easy. But the truth is the Cross (i.e. Jesus’ death) has so many asspects to it, so many reasons, so many purposes that are revealed in the NT and OT. Hopefully I’ll be able to illuminate a few.

Today’s answer is this. Jesus came to die to absorb the wrath of God. Think about that. If you’re honest (or at least if I’m honest) I tend to think of the wrath of God being cancelled out on the Cross. About it being nullified, because of the Cross there is no wrath. Right?

Well, no. Because of the Cross there is no more wrath. It isn’t like it was extinguished, rather it was met. Or absorbed.

Check out Galatians 3:13 – 13Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for usβ€”for it is written, “Cursed is everyone who is hanged on a tree”β€”

and 1 John 4:10 – 10In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

Can you see? God isn’t a God who forgets sins, He’s a God who deals with sins. That’s why we can say that on the Cross Jesus Absorbed the wrath of God. It’s a subtle difference maybe from what we might tend to think but the implications on our thinking about God (and His attitude towards sin), sin (and it’s consequences and seriousness) and what Jesus actually did are huge.

I think if we grasp the fact that Christ absorbed God’s wrath we’ll be all the more amazed at what He did, all the more thankful for what He did and all the more worshipful of who He is.

Thoughts inspired and stolen (unashamedly and without permission although I’m sure he’d grant it) from “The Passion of Jesus Christ – 50 reasons why Jesus came to die” by John Piper
2 Responses to “As I couldn’t possibly post on prognosis…”

  1. Larry 12/11/2008 at 10:38 am #

    a) your spelling is your best trait πŸ˜›
    b) it was thinking about this plus the rest of the Biblical witness that convinced me of particular redemption, it was the only way propitiation fitted with Jesus once for all death and with hell still existing…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sammy has a new post… « Saint Beagle - 08/12/2008

    […] time being. Else try clicking here. It’s a continuation of a series I started on SaintBeagle when I darent have posted on prognosis. Please have a look. theprognosis.org is traditionally where I do my series blogging. However while […]

Leave a Reply

