Who’s your favourite?

27 Nov

We all have favourites. Favourite colours, favourite chocolate bars, favourite drinks, favourite bands, favourite films, the lists could go on and on…

The question I’ve been batting around today though is who is my favourite Biblical Author (by this I mean author of the Bible rather than an author who is biblical in what they write). Now I have to admit there are several Biblical Authors I’ve never read but as far as I can tell one stands out for me. His name was Paul. I like reading Paul because he seems terribly scientific. By that I mean his arguments always seem very logical. Mixed in with that of course are some beautifully poetic quotes. I just love the flow of his reasoning.

Another Biblical Author I love is the author of Ruth. Now, they are not very ‘scientific’ at all. Why I like about this unkonwn author is that the dramatic, subtleties that others authors used are not so subtle. For instance the multiple use of the phrase, “it just so happened” screams irony out to me. It’s a read between the lines kind of book which requires no reading between lines!

Now my question to you is, “Who is your favourite Biblical Author?” oh and “Why?

8 Responses to “Who’s your favourite?”

  1. Jonathan Thomas 27/11/2008 at 8:47 pm #

    And my question to you: why the cambrian coheed picture?
    But my answer must be Apollos – who wrote Hebrews. Because he knows the OT backwards (as it is in Hebrew) and is able to show how we should live with faith in the complete work of the (now) unseen Christ, rather than the (then) seen High Priest.

  2. Saint Jonny 27/11/2008 at 8:52 pm #

    New Testament, without a doubt, John. He’s deep, poetic, philosophical and creative in how he writes that leaves you realising – “wow!” As for Old Testament, I like Ecclesiastes for similar reasons. And it’s worth mentioning my experiences with Ezekiel. First time I read it, I was like, “What the heck was that!” It was such a drag and I got virtually nothing out of it. Second time round, I was like, “Wow, that was great.” Reading him in the context of other major OT prophets, he’s so unique and I love the way God’s always calling him “Son of man” and how he does weird dramatic prophecies.

  3. Larry 27/11/2008 at 9:46 pm #

    COHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sammy I love you for tagging them!

    Paul,
    because he has such a progressive line of thought (which i struggle to understand at times!!) and because he wrote so much so i feel like i can get to know him. Also Paul wrote my two favourite books of the Bible – Romans and Ephesians.

  4. Larry 27/11/2008 at 9:48 pm #

    COHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Sammy I love you for tagging them!

    Paul,
    because he has such a progressive line of thought (which i struggle to understand at times!!) and because he wrote so much so i feel like i can get to know him. Also Paul wrote my two favourite books of the Bible – Romans and Ephesians.

  5. Larry Norman 28/11/2008 at 12:14 am #

    Yes firefox duplicated my comment. Yes its lame.

  6. huwie 28/11/2008 at 9:26 am #

    Are we allowed to have favourites? Cool! In that case, mine would have to be God becuase He wrote the WHOLE Bible… πŸ˜‰

  7. huwie 28/11/2008 at 9:28 am #

    Only joking! (for at least 2 reasons – since you are probably going to moderate my comment out, and because I clearly cannot spell ‘because’)

    I’m with Jonny and going for John (for largely the same reasons) and Habakuk in the OT… I just love reading Habakuk in the original Hebrew…

  8. sammydaviesjr 28/11/2008 at 11:06 am #

    The Coheed picture is because, if you noticed, I’ve answered all my ‘favourites’ questions in the first paragraph in the tags for the post.

    Larry you seem to be agreeing with me. This progressive thought is what I would call scientific.

    I know what yous guys is sayings about John…but the thing is most of the time the poetry or the use of language to convey an idea not actually spoken is totally lost on a Physics graduate like me. That’s why I sight the author of Ruth…because she uses these things and then spells them out for a dumbo like me. Also, seeing the lineage at the end to David (and then obviously to Christ) is awesome, it’s like a story the family would remember at Christmas! (And on another note, why are the stories we recall at Christmas always the same ones? DO we forget that we told them the last 10 Christmases)

Leave a Reply

