Worship doesn’t lead us to God…

8 Jan

God leads us to worship.

JT shared this on Wednesday night at our Church’s new ‘Prayer and Praise’ meeting called Dwell. Jon was speaking from Colossians 3:16 (where the name dwell comes from) but I think this was more of an off the cuff remark. 

I’m not sure I can think of a single verse to back it up (if you can please comment below) but it does seem right to me. I know for a long time I felt like if I wanted to know or experience God I had to go worship. Surely though it is knowledge and experience of God that gives my worship truth and authenticity?

4 Responses to “Worship doesn’t lead us to God…”

  1. DOrchard 08/01/2009 at 10:35 am #

    I suppose one way in which God leads us to worship him is in recognition of his great and gracious acts.
    Psalm 50:15 “and call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify me.”
    Its quite an imperative statement there. God: “I will deliver you. Then you will glorify me.” 🙂

  2. Larry 10/01/2009 at 6:05 pm #

    I would say grace leads us to worship but then i’m prob’s splitting hairs here.
    If you think about the Bible as the whole though it is God’s self disclosure to bring about the obedience of faith – which is worship?

  3. sammydaviesjr 10/01/2009 at 6:19 pm #

    Cheers Larry, but I do think that’s splitting hairs.

    I agree that it’s the testimony of the whole Bible that God leads us to worship but as a good reformed Welsh boy I’d love to have a proof text.

  4. Larry 10/01/2009 at 7:31 pm #

    Col 3: 16 sets up a link between the Bible and thankfulness
    After delving deeeeeeep into the Gospel, election and God’s dealings with Israel Romans 11 ends with praise. (v. 33-36)

    A proof chapter would ultimately be Eph 1. We are saved – and thus given the knowledge of the glory of God (2 cor 4) all to the praise of the grace of God. (Eph 1: 6)… Knowing God – God assumes it would seem – leads to praise.

    I was splitting hairs, no two ways about it. I just had an old phrase in my head… “the same sun that melts the ice also hardens the clay.”… But apologies never the less for das haare trennen.

Leave a Reply

