“I prefer to see God as a God of love…

29 Jan

…rather than a God of wrath.” – This might be an attitude or ‘theology’ you’ve come across. It may be an attitude you yourself subscribe to (if it is I’d love to hear your response). It’s pretty prevalent these days, fueled possibly by books like ‘The Shack’ and dvd’s like the ‘Nooma’ series.

I believe in a God of Justice, a God of Wrath,  a God of Pure, Holiness. I also think I believe in a God of greater love than those who subscribe to the opening sentiment.

Here’s my logic. Those who claim that a loving God wouldn’t  judge people but ‘loves everyone’ seem to me to be saying rather that God doesn’t care.

When I say I believe in a God of Love I can back it up. 1 John 3:16. I know He loves me because He died for me. 

How much more is God Loving if He is a God who died for us? It doesn’t get more loving than that! So when it is said, “I believe in a God of love.” I can reply with all my gusto, conviction and heart, “So do I. A God of such great Love that He would even die for me.”

I understand why people do it. The doctrine of wrath and judgement are horrible doctrines if misunderstood. There is also the pressure from society, blasted in all our sensory receptors, that to be angry and or to  judge are negative qualities. But to rob God of these is to rob Him of His most majestic and awesome attribute. Love.

A God who doesn’t judge isn’t a God who loves, it’s a God who doesn’t care.

Please, if you think I’m way out, try and point me in the right direction

4 Responses to ““I prefer to see God as a God of love…”

  1. Larry Norman 29/01/2009 at 10:30 am #

    trackback by Larry – Robbing God

  2. Jonathan Thomas 29/01/2009 at 10:42 pm #

    You are not way out… it’s just the right direction

  3. Becca Thomas 29/01/2009 at 10:46 pm #

    Amen. only when you understand God’s constant, level wrath can you fully understand the depths of his love. Thanks Sam for graciously pointing us to the atonement.

  4. Larry Norman 30/01/2009 at 11:31 am #

    Thats just spooky. Tag-team familiy commenting…

Leave a Reply

