To live is Christ (Maths and a Christocentric Mind Set)

9 Feb

Sunday night saw my local church host the second instalment of the Disciplship Explored Course.  The session mainly featured on a verse in Philippians 1:

“For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.”

It’s a verse I thought I understood, but with breath taking clarity it has struck me anew.

To understand it my brain has gone a little bit mathematical. What follows will be a few simple equations…read on.

So apparently to Live = Christ and to Die = Gain. Simple. But what does that mean? I asked myself the question, “What else could life equal that would result in Death = Gain?” The answer is nothing. So my maths brain goes further:

Life = Anything (except Christ)  then Death = Loss

The only way that Death (which is inevitable) can equal gain is if my life = Christ. That thought took my breath away.

But what does it mean ‘for me to live is Christ’? Barry Cooper explained it thusly. What is your greatest treasure? What is your ultimate ambition. That is what to live is for you. So Paul’s thinking is entirely other to that which I have experienced. The one thing he cared about, that which was most significant to him, was the one thing he’d get when he goes home.

Application for me? If I place anything else in that position of ‘ultimate objective’ I’m bound to lose it and death becomes loss. How much better if death is gain? How much better if life = Christ?

2 Responses to “To live is Christ (Maths and a Christocentric Mind Set)”

  1. Larry Norman 09/02/2009 at 2:31 pm #

    Posts like this make being ill and cough ridden that much better. Being a Christian is a win-win situation ultimately. (life/death = win!)

  2. sammydaviesjr 09/02/2009 at 2:43 pm #

    Christ for the Win.

    Win!

Leave a Reply

