Spiritial gifts

10 Feb

Jay ray spoke the other day at AEC (my Church). In his preach he mentioned almost in passing, but true none the less, that spiritual gifts, which cause so much division in Christ’s church, are given to unite.

As I traveled to Bangor I listened to Pipe Cleaner on this very same subject. Interestingly he avoided hitting what I’d consider the most trite passage on the subject and instead he went to the first mention of spiritual gifts in the new testament. Romans 1:11-12:

“11I long to see you so that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to make you strong— 12that is, that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith.”

Essentially he explained that gifts are there to strengthen each others faith. Our greatest problem (or bigest Christian worry) isn’t discerning what our spiritual gift is, rather how we can strengthen the faith of those around us.

I suppose logic dictats therefore that if we do some strengthening, then we’ve excersised a spiritual gift! I thought this was an amazing way of approaching the topic and definately worth a post.

One Response to “Spiritial gifts”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recommending Matt Chandler « Saint Beagle - 27/03/2009

    […] I realised I needed to crack into something new. I’d also been listening to Jay Pip (aka Pipe Cleaner)  alot recently so thought I had to really try something brand new. My conclusion was to give Matt […]

Leave a Reply

