50 Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die

18 Feb

Have you ever ‘done’ lent? I haven’t. This year in my Church we are challenging people to go one step further than the usual 40days of abstinence. Because it fits so easily, we are trying to get people to read a chapter a day of John Pipers Book, “50 Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die” (aka The Passion of Jesus Christ) for 50days in the run up to Easter.

That might sound like a stretch but actually each chapter is only about a page and a half long.

Interested in taking part? Don’t want to buy the book (although I can get you a £5 copy if you ask). You can download it for free in  pdf  format!!! I’m afraid i have no idea when lent starts, but it’s approaching soon so if you want to join in then you’ll have to get started at least by Monday (I imagine, I’m no good with calendars!)

Do Lent. Look to Christ. Read a Chapter a day.

6 Responses to “50 Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die”

  1. Saint Jonny 18/02/2009 at 2:41 pm #

    Next Tuesday. Thanks for the link!

  2. Larry 18/02/2009 at 3:51 pm #

    Ditto for the link and for the date (@Jonny, and no sammy, not that kind of date!)

    I am loving the book reviews at the moment, could you spoil us with your favourite quote from each book?

    I will be doing the 50 days of lent (!!!!) thing with you guys!

  3. sammydaviesjr 18/02/2009 at 4:40 pm #

    Thanks for researching the dates Jonny.

    No I can’t spoil you with a best quote from the books as I never write one down unfortunately.

  4. Larry 18/02/2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Poop.
    “Tidy videos” ??? I am so unuptodate with slang.
    By the way A W Pink on the attributes of God is written in similar chapter length to Pipe Cleaner’s 50 reasons – I heartily recommend it!

  5. sammydaviesjr 19/02/2009 at 8:21 am #

    Tidy..as in “Nice one, proper tidy like.”

    Didn’t you live with a welshie for a while? You should be down with this if your able to slip ‘dim’ into a sentence such as. “Do you take sugar in your tea? ” “Diiiiiiiim.”

    *So that’s two of us referring to Pope Piper as Pipe Cleaner…I wonder how many more we can get.

  6. Larry 19/02/2009 at 3:27 pm #

    Dim your silly slang.
    I nearly wrote Pipe Cleaner on the board yesterday instead of Pipeline worker. Oh dear…

Leave a Reply

