My Jesus I Love Thee

19 Feb

1082435538_9b0d40fe55So recently I’ve reintroduced two (in my opinion) great hymns to my church. Namely ‘Nothing but the Blood‘ and ‘Man of Sorrows’. Both of which I kinda rejigged a little (linguistically and musically) in an effort to let the beauty of Christ and what he’s done for his Church speak clearly to the congregation (and myself).

 

I’ve now got two more songs in the pipe line. Firstly there’s ‘My Jesus I love Thee’:

 

My Jesus, I love You, I know You are mine;
For You all the follies of sin I resign.
My gracious Redeemer, my Saviour are You;
If ever I loved You, my Jesus, it’s now.

I love You because You have first loved me,
And purchased forgiveness on Calvary’s tree.
I love You for wearing the thorns on Your brow;
If ever I loved You, my Jesus, it’s now.

I’ll love You in life, I will love You in death,
And praise You as long as You give to me breath;
And say when the death dew lies cold on my brow,
If ever I loved You, my Jesus, it’s now.

In mansions of glory and endless delight,
I’ll ever adore You in heaven so bright;
I’ll sing with the glittering crown on my brow;
If ever I loved You, my Jesus, it’s now.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Secondly I’m looking at doing Chris Tomlin’s ‘Mighty is the Power of the Cross’:

What are your thoughts…on either?

6 Responses to “My Jesus I Love Thee”

  1. Saint Jonny 19/02/2009 at 11:17 am #

    How dare you change the words. That’s despicable. you’re messing with someone else’s poetry. Just kidding!

    Have you thought about changing them from being individuocentric to communocentric? (I just made those words up!) As in, have you thought about changing the “I”s, “me”s, and “my”s to “us”s, “we”s, and “ours”s? I know it’s not just a case of straight swap with rhyming and all that.

  2. Larry 19/02/2009 at 2:49 pm #

    I would say have both WEs and MEs …

  3. sammydaviesjr 19/02/2009 at 4:00 pm #

    Nice word invention.

    To be honest I often do change from the me to we, but curiously enough not the other way. But as Larry says, both are acceptable. I would major on the we rather than the me in practice though because church is a comunal entity

  4. Sophie K 19/02/2009 at 4:24 pm #

    Oh dude, I love the hymn My Jesus I love thee…have rejigged in the past myself…aces. Also noticed you had Mars Hill Music….awesome….

  5. sammydaviesjr 19/02/2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Always with the E-Pop, they are my favourite MHC band by quite a long way.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Jesus I Love Thee - Update « Saint Beagle - 04/03/2009

    […] Jesus I Love Thee – Update Posted on March 4, 2009 by sammydaviesjr I hope you read my previous post on this song. On Monday night I was given the green light to bring it into the churches hit list. […]

Leave a Reply

