Worship Matters

5 Mar
307780933_e083245840_o

Where people go to 'worship'

If you’ve read my book review you’ll now I love this book (it got 5 cheesy christian fishes out of 5). For me it’s applicable and edifying for anyone, not just people who lead or take part in music on a Sunday. The book contains a great little description of what we are trying to achieve via our music in a corporate setting. It then goes on to open up each phrase and explain it’s biblical origins. Anyway, I thought you may like to know what the little description is:

A faithful worship leader
magnifies the greatness of God in Jesus Christ
through the power of the Holy Spirit
by skillfully combing God’s Word with music,
hereby motivating the gathered church
to proclaim the Gospel,
to cherish the presence of God,
and to live for God’s Glory. 

I’m currently re-reading the book which is why it’s come back into my psyche (the authors blog can be found here). As we press on as a music team in AEC I’m going to be pushing it more and more. I’m also going to try and remember it as I prepare for opportunities to leads God’s people in worship of Him. To that end you may have noticed a new ‘tab’ up top titled ‘Set-Lists…‘ This is where I’ll be recording which songs I’ve led, why I choose them i.e. their relation or usefulness in developing a theme/teaching a truth, how I explained them and how they were received by he church i.e. did they do their job? Primarily I’m doing this as a record for myself, to aid my leading but also, if at all helpful, as a resource to anyone who might stumble across it.

I’ll leave you with the Westminster ‘Shorter’ Catechism’s first Q&A to get you thinking and becuase it seems to be a recuring theme in my life at the moment:

What is the chief end of Man? To glorify God, and enjoy Him for ever.”

One Response to “Worship Matters”

  1. jonnyboy87 06/03/2009 at 1:26 am #

    beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

