Clinging to the Cross of Jesus

23 Mar
I think the mic was borken...

I think the mic was borken...

 

This afternoon, having gotten home from work at about 4:51pm I decided I’d set about learning one of the new songs recommended by our pastor for using in church for the run up to Easter. So that we’re clear, JT Is also a music leader. Every 3 or 4 months he produces a CD for teh music team, a cd o suggested new tunes. Usually the other music leaders have an input as to what makes that CD. The latest list looks something like this:

Clinging to the CrossTim Hughes”  “Beneath the Cross of Jesus – Getty’s”  “Speak O Lord Getty/Townend”  
HosannaHillsong”  “Consuming Fire – Tim Hughes”  “My Jesus I Love TheeRed Mountain Music”  
Mighty is the Power of the CrossChris Tomlin” 

The intent is that we continue to sing content driven music, but possibly throwing a few more ‘responsive’ songs into the mixing pot. Anyway. Having already led, ‘Beneath the Cross’ and ‘My Jesus I Love thee‘ and having decided that ‘Mighty is the Cross’ isn’t very congregational and being in the process of a re-write of ‘Hossana’ (in consultation with the other music leaders) I thought I’d tackle ‘Clinging to the Cross.’

In so doing I think I may have stumbled across a great resource for people in the music ministry (or for those who just enjoy listening). It’s the ‘new song‘ section of Worship Central. You can listen to the song and see the chords too it. I’m going to give them a good listen and I’ll let you know if anything comes of it.

2 Responses to “Clinging to the Cross of Jesus”

  1. larry 24/03/2009 at 9:35 am #

    Worship Central is pretty cool … good find

  2. dai hankey 24/03/2009 at 10:13 pm #

    Hi Sammy, just letting you know you’re now linked off my blog cos you’re a good bloke, you’ve always got something good to say and I like your blog!

    God bless

    dai

Leave a Reply

