NWA9: Pre-round up thought

13 Apr

 

The Pwllheli Coast

The Pwllheli Coast

I’ve been enjoying an extended break from work, this means an extended break from routine and an extended period of time with the wife. This all together means very little Internet. I’m looking forward to blogging some material from Tim Chesters NWA seminars and the History Makers (that I attended). But before I do I thought I should air a disappointment. It goes a little something like this…

 

Q: “What did you enjoy best about NWA?”  A: “Good sound Bible teaching.”

I find this response very frustrating and disappointing. It means one of a few things. 1) Nothing was said that really challenged you and your faith. I think this is very disappointing. You’ve learnt nothing. Your attendance was just to check NWA’s orthodoxy, that’s it. 2) What you enjoy mos is people talking about things you already agree with rather than a fresh revelation of the Gospel. 3) You have sifted God’s Word rather than allowing it to sift you. (I’m sure there are others)

If the teaching was that great and solid, surely the thing you’d have enjoyed most was the vision of Jesus and His Gospel that you saw, or perhaps a fresh challenge to count everything else loss and Christ as gain…or…well you get the point. Many things. 

I’m worried that the attitude of many who attended (myself included) was simply to get together and talk about how Biblical we are, rather than seeking God transform us through His Word. 

I’m not expressing myself  well. I tend not to when I’m upset and frustrated. Any thoughts?

9 Responses to “NWA9: Pre-round up thought”

  1. Larry 13/04/2009 at 9:26 pm #

    Some people mean I saw Jesus anew when they say good solid Bible teaching. We use our own religious () abbreviations without thinking them through.

    It’s a shame when it does happen though. Which fool praises the telescope after seeing the Milky Way in brilliant clarity, instead of praising the Milky Way

    (This fool, for one)

  2. dave bish 13/04/2009 at 9:38 pm #

    OOOOO YES YES YES!!:
    “If the teaching was that great and solid, surely the thing you’d have enjoyed most was the vision of Jesus and His Gospel that you saw, or perhaps a fresh challenge to count everything else loss and Christ as gain”

  3. dai hankey 13/04/2009 at 9:52 pm #

    Just a thought Sammy – perhaps some of these people have been gagging for Biblical truth all year but are not getting it in their local church context and have no local alternatives! The way a man who has been thirsting in the desert for weeks responds to a simple glass of water is probably very different to a man who has it free-flowing from his tap and therefore feels at liberty to critique its temperature, purity and even fluoride levels! Maybe NWA was such welcome refreshment to them that all they could say was – It was water and it refreshed me!

    You’re a blessed man mate cos your pastor’s a good bloke who loves the Bible and teaches it well. Perhaps some aren’t so privileged!

    Just a thought…

  4. sammydaviesjr 14/04/2009 at 7:44 am #

    Cheers boys. Only thing is Dai, I think we’re trying to give people (who don’t need one) an easy ride. The majority of people who give this trite kind of answer would say likewise that it’s the best thing about their home church. It’s a stock answer. One that requires no thought, emotional connection or personal challenge/change. I agree that what you are saying could be correct but it would be the exception in this case rather than the rule.

    I’m guessing that Hill City provides good solid Bible teaching. I’m also guessing that there are many answers to, “What is your favourite thing about Hill City?” that you’d prefer your troop to give. Not that you’d be disappointed with such an answer, as you say it’s something we should thirst for, but I think me diagnosis in the above post carries some weight.

  5. dai hankey 14/04/2009 at 9:21 am #

    Yes that’s fair comment mate! Solid Bible teaching should always lead to challenge and transformation.

  6. Saint Jonny 14/04/2009 at 7:23 pm #

    So what did you enjoy most at NWA?

  7. sammydaviesjr 14/04/2009 at 9:51 pm #

    That’s my next post…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. NWA9: “What I Enjoyed Most” « Saint Beagle - 16/04/2009

    […] about foolssammydaviesjr on All about foolsKyle on All about foolssammydaviesjr on NWA9: Pre-round up thoughtSaint Jonny on NWA9: Pre-round […]

  2. Getting Ready for New Word Alive:2010 « saintbeagle - 12/03/2010

    […] a little thought last year I was a little critical of the usual attitude of, “I really loved NWA because of the great teaching.” (So great […]

Leave a Reply

