NWA9: “What I Enjoyed Most”

16 Apr

Pwllheli CoastlineIt’s an odd question to ask really. “What did you enjoy most?” It’s presupposing that my main intention was to ‘enjoy’ myself. While it’s no doubt true that this is something I wanted from the week, I wonder if that should have been my primary motivation for attending New Word Alive this year?

Perhaps a better question to ask would be, “What have you learnt from NWA?” or maybe, “What was the biggest challenge you had in NWA?” or maybe, I think probably most importantly, “What has changed practically in your Christian life off the back of NWA?”

I’m obviously not going to say ‘good, solid Bible teaching.‘ But know that it was on display all week long. The authority of Scripture was right at the heart of all the teaching I attended. So what was best then?

“What did you enjoy most?” – Walking along the gorgeous Welsh coast line in the sun with my comparably gorgeous wife. Easy. As I’ve said for a while, the most manly thing you can do is spend time with your woman.

Chester's Tea Pot“What have you learnt from NWA?” – A few things actually. Firstly that God’s Word should be siting me rather than the other way round (as is usually the case). This was first brought up by Richie Cunnigham in his preach on the parable of the sower, but fast became a theme for the week as Liam Golligher took us through Jonah’s sifting of God’s Word.ย 

Secondly, that the Gospel isn’t accessible if I only communicate it the way that suits me. Tim Chester did a great seminar track on the Gospel and the Urban Poor. The thing I took away was that how I learn, interact, engage, think etc. isn’t how others do. My evangelism & discipleship should be illuminated by this. Audio is available via the NWA website or on Tim Chester’s blog. (i recommend whole heartedly!!!)

“What was the biggest challenge you had in NWA?” – Well I don’t know from what preach it came, but I think I realised that at the moment Grace is a chip I’ll cash in when I get to heaven. The challenge then is to see Grace as something that is really applicable here and now also and to try and live my life in light of this.

Liam on Jonah“What has changed practically in your Christian life off the back of NWA9?” – This has probably come from Liam’s Jonah-thon. Jonah was a good, faithful prophet to the people of Israel. But when God told him to do something out his happy religious bubble the wheels come off. I’m Jonah. I’m happy for God to rule over some nice little Christian compartments in my life. God help Him if He tries to take over ‘my’ compartments! Practically this means I’ve always got to be asking myself the question, “Who am I serving in this? God or me?”

So there you have it. Not a review or a round up, but answers to some questions we should be asking each other after such a week.

10 Responses to “NWA9: “What I Enjoyed Most””

  1. Mike 26/04/2009 at 9:15 pm #

    “..the most manly thing you can do is spend time with your woman.”
    Not a major sentence in your post, but one I wanted to ask about: What if you haven’t ‘got’ a woman. Less manly?

  2. sammydaviesjr 27/04/2009 at 8:16 am #

    Good question Michael. As some one not in that position I couldn’t comment fairly. Although I’d assume ‘less manly’ isn’t correct.

    The sentence was a well aimed kick to the groin for all those blokes who think spending time with your wife/fiancรฉe/girlfriend makes you a little fruity. That to be a man you must spend time with other men, farting and the like. Now while I really enjoy a good fart etc. the sentiment couldn’t be further from the truth. Anyway, perhaps another post!

  3. Mike 27/04/2009 at 8:43 am #

    the aim was true! and i trust makes it’s mark – i totally agree with it!

    I’m just concerned with the (often made) assumption that single men can’t express ‘manliness’ or are deficiently manly because they’re single. [although of course no-one would use that exact phrase]

    Perhaps the most manly thing you can do is spend time with Jesus. And if you’re married/etc doing that with your wife/etc

  4. sammydaviesjr 27/04/2009 at 8:47 am #

    I’m wasn’t aware that this assumption is often made. It’s definitely not something I’ve ever assumed.

    I do like your little flip at the end there though

  5. Mike 27/04/2009 at 10:24 am #

    that’s the trouble with assumptions – crafty little blighters ๐Ÿ™‚

    sorry, i didn’t want to hijack your NWA thoughts!
    you blog on manliness. i’ll try and remember to blog on manliness. we’ll meet somewhere there…

  6. sammydaviesjr 27/04/2009 at 10:49 am #

    Maybe a quick clarification here instead. As a married man I think maybe one of the most manish things i can do is love my wife.

    Any assumed’s there?

  7. Mike 27/04/2009 at 10:57 am #

    i love it!
    thanks bro. sorry to labour it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Who are you teaching, who are you reaching? « the proGnosis - 16/04/2009

    […] bloggers highlight of New Word Alive ‘09 was most defiantly Tim Chester’s afternoon seminar track on, […]

  2. One Another « Saint Beagle - 17/04/2009

    […] Encourage one another (Heb 3:13). I’m looking forward to these as I think they are a way to live Grace now rather than just in eternity. I’m realy looking forward to pointing everyone to Jesus as both our example and means in […]

  3. Twitter 3:16 « Saint Beagle - 23/04/2009

    […] about Twitter usage for the Christian in light of Colossians 3:16. It’s also in light of the excellent seminar track led by Tim Chester in NWA and a little bit of response to Lewis Rodericks post on […]

Leave a Reply

