A Few Observations From Colossians 3:16

21 Apr

Each week I usually write a Bible study for our church mid-week Rooted groups. Colossians 3:16 is our churches ‘verse of the year.’ So, I’ve been thinking how the two are linked.

I’ve been thinking how such a verse impacts what we should be doing and being in our small groups. Here’s a few observations of what’s assumed in the verse:

  • We be together
  • We care about each other
  • We know the Gospel
  • That contemplating God results in praise of him
  • Everyone is a teacher and active in the lives of other Christians
  • Everything we do is built on the platform of ‘having the gospel dwell in us.’

It’s only thinking at the moment. I’m not sure how it works out in practice exactly, but I think it’s important.

It’s also got me thinking about how this verse impacts our use of twitter/facebook as Christians? Thoughts in the form of a post to follow…

4 Responses to “A Few Observations From Colossians 3:16”

  1. Larry 21/04/2009 at 4:57 pm #

    I’m looking forward to your twitter/c 3 16 thoughts..

  2. Donnie 25/08/2009 at 5:00 pm #

    Love your Colossians image. Wondering if it is copyrighted. I’m teaching a class on Colossians, and would like to use the image to advertise. Would that be okay with you?

  3. sammydaviesjr 25/08/2009 at 5:09 pm #

    I have to admit donnie it is taken from another blog, which has probably taken it from elsewhere.

    That’s a yes, but I’m not it’s my yes to give.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twitter 3:16 « Saint Beagle - 23/04/2009

    […] You’ve Said… Larry on A Few Observations From Colossians 3:16sammydaviesjr on One AnotherKyle on One AnotherSaint Jonny on One AnotherOne Another […]

Leave a Reply

