Twitter 3:16

23 Apr
Tweety: Founder of Twitter Corp.

Tweety: Founder of Twitter Corp.

In my last post I promised I’d write something about Twitter usage for the Christian in light of Colossians 3:16. It’s also in light of the excellent seminar track led by Tim Chester in NWA and a little bit of response to Lewis Rodericks post on theproGnosis.org

So what then do these all have to do with using Twitter as a Christian, for Christs Glory and the spiritual growth of His people?

Well first off I need to restate the assumption that lies behind much of Colossians 3:16. It’s that, as Christians, we be open, honest and vulnerable with one another. How else can we ‘teach and admominsh’ unless there is that level of intimacy that true relationship requires. Does Twitter negate this (i.e. stops us from doing it) or does it give us an opportunity to do this out there in the open. I plum for the later!

If someones going to teach or admonish me then I’ve got to be open, honest and accountable to them. And visa versa for that matter. Colossians 3:16 also assumes that we are actively involved in each others spiritual growth. It assumes that building each other up, helping Christians to become more like Christ and to have more gratitude to God in their hearts is something all Christians be involved in, not just a professional few. Twitter gives us the chance to do this out there in the open.

Being a Christian on Twitter then (or facebook for that matter) isn’t about posting a link to a Christian article or a ‘worship’ bands  myspace page. It isn’t about increasing traffic to your blog (as if reading what you or I have got to write on say Twitter is going to revolutionize their walk). It isn’t even about trite mini preaches to the world every time you remember the Gospel. 

Here’s what I think using Twitter for the kingdom looks like, tweeting your in a bad mood, being reminded by a brother that Christ rose, then tweeting that in light of having such a Saviour your bad mood is a bit pathetic. (or something similar). Can you see how it’s more real, it’s more Colossians 3:16?

These thoughts are still formulating so I’d appreciate your thoughts, comments, experiences etc. either below in the comments or on my Twitter.

12 Responses to “Twitter 3:16”

  1. gethin 23/04/2009 at 1:12 pm #

    I started typing a response to this but it started to become a blogpost in itself and it diverted from your main point. So I’ll post that on the grace race.
    What I intended to say originally was – yes I agree!
    There used to be a ‘real life/online life’ divide I think – but I think that barrier is coming down and people are really using the internet more as a tool for real community now – mainly thanks to Twitter I think.

  2. Saint Jonny 23/04/2009 at 5:35 pm #

    Is there a question to be raised here in how whether this should be pursued within your local church community rather than just to any one of your Christian friends? I’m sure you could guess the way I’d tend on that.

  3. Steff 23/04/2009 at 9:21 pm #

    You’ve changed your tune.

    However, I am questioning the use of “internet”, “tool for” and “real community” in the same sentence. However, if it helps us to be more open and honest with each other as christians (and to non-christians for that matter) then I don’t think it does any harm.

  4. gethin 25/04/2009 at 5:38 pm #

    By tool for real community I didn’t mean that it’s the link that creates the community – just that it’s becoming more an integrated part of real community. I’ll try to explain when I do the blogposts.

  5. jonnyboy87 27/04/2009 at 11:08 pm #

    Call me old fashioned but I like being admonished face to face! 🙂

  6. sammydaviesjr 28/04/2009 at 7:49 am #

    Right then, We need to meet for coffee and lunch tomorrow. Exams or no exams!

    • jonnyboy87 28/04/2009 at 11:57 am #

      going to cardiff tomorrow afternoon sorry. You can come with though if you want – watching swansea cu girls take on cardiff cu.

  7. Larry 29/04/2009 at 5:45 am #

    When are we doing coffee and lunch?

  8. Saint Jonny 29/04/2009 at 6:54 am #

    Oh, are we all doing coffee and lunch? Well, I’ll have to cancel my other lunch appointment, but alright then.

  9. Larry 03/05/2009 at 5:25 pm #

    Seriously beagle, i want coffee and lunch… twas no koje!

  10. sammydaviesjr 05/05/2009 at 9:01 am #

    Yeah, sure thing guys. I’ll see you there at 1

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s the point in the city? « Saint Beagle - 25/04/2009

    […] on FlickrStorm: A Neat Little Sitedai hankey on FlickrStorm: A Neat Little SiteSteff on Twitter 3:16Saint Jonny on Twitter 3:16gethin on […]

Leave a Reply

