My, my!

16 Dec

So after my last post I’ve been doing  little digging, trying to find out how others have dealt with the lyrics of the great hymn Come Thou Fount.

It appears that on the whole, the issue of being in debt to grace sits well with people. So perhaps I’m making a mountain out of a mole hill on that one.

What’s most interesting is the original structure. It seems that what was originally two verses has commonly been shoved into one.

Check out wikipedia on the song and see how others have juggled it (rather than heavily editing it).

One Response to “My, my!”

  1. Gethin 17/12/2009 at 9:49 am #

    Ye – I think if it had gone along the lines of “I’m indebted to grace and therefore must seek to pay it back”, there would have been problems but the emphasis does seem to be on the idea that it is GRACE to which I’m indebted (as opposed to anything else), it’s grace that I have to be grateful for, rather than my own good works, for example.
    It just happens to be the case that some people also think in a ‘debtor’s ethic’ kind of way which some people have highlighted and they’ve said that ‘debt’ language isn’t helpful but I don’t think that’s what this hymn teaches 🙂

Leave a Reply

