Teaching as a Quality pursuit rather than a Volume defined Industry

29 Jan

Notice they're different reactions to being taught

A few years ago I began thinking about the volume of teaching we receive as a Church. Then I listened to a sermon on that very topic. Then I discussed the issue with my elders. Then I blogged about it (obviously).

But what am I talking about? Okay, let’s be honest. Week in, week out, how many of us live transformed lives because of what we heard on Sunday? Honestly what is the last sermon you heard that you are actually living a different life in light of?

Some years ago my Church went from two services to one Sunday service for various reason. I was over the moon. I’d always been of the opinion that one sermon was hard enough to actually take in and change my life…let alone 2.

But I began to lean further. Imagine  the number of differing ‘messages’ you receive in a week.

I’m guessing who ever leads the 2 services you attend gives a passage and a blurb, not massive amount, but they are trying to plant some seeds in the hope it sparks something. The person leading the music in both services throws a little extra into the melting pot. Do you have Church notes? Surely there’s something ‘inspirational’ in there. Then the preacher gets up (twice) and preaches a sermon that has more than one ‘rubber hits the road’ moment. Then there’s your daily(ish) reading, not at all ‘aligned’ with any of the 7+ messages of varying sizes you’ve already heard on Sunday alone. Then you go to home group/bible study, there’s something different there. Then you meet up with someone one to one, chalk up another ‘theme’. All of a sudden in less than a week can so easily have more than 12 ‘big ideas’ competing for our attention, discipline, etc.

I’ll ask again, Week in, week out, how many of us live transformed lives because of what we heard on Sunday? I hold my hands up and admit that even though I can remember ins, outs, facts, figure, illustrations and pisspronounciations(sic) from sermons years ago (and last week) I struggle to remember sermons which have had solid, quantifiable impact on the way I’ve lived come Monday,Tuesday… Friday, today etc.

The solution, teach less…more often!

It’s been an absolute joy to see how God’s Word is so applicable to different situations. Since I chatted my thoughts through with my church eldership we’ve tried to be more streamlined on the amount of different things we teach on a week to week basis.

It’s been great to have service leaders and music leaders who have re-enforced the emphasis of the sermon, prayer meetings being led by the emphasis of the sermon, home groups taking time to actually dig into the emphasis of the sermon and apply it to our lives.

How often are you being taught/teaching those around you? Are you ‘pebble dashing’ or focussing the Word of God and expecting real change?

2 Responses to “Teaching as a Quality pursuit rather than a Volume defined Industry”

  1. daiwoolridge 29/01/2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Love it.

  2. Gilo 01/02/2010 at 4:45 pm #

    One thing the youth pastor is doing at the church here is giving two or three practical challenges for every sermon he does. They then go deeper into these during the small group studies in the week. The following Sunday they are asked to mark down the challenges that they did so that they can keep track of what they are “doing for God”.

    Now obviously doing various challenges doesn’t lead to life transformation. You get the rule following kids who do whatever you tell them to do, and the rebel kids not doing them just because someone asked them to.

    But I have seen, in a few of the youth, attitudes changing and behaviours changing because they are taking one or two things from the sermon each Sunday and directly applying it to their lives – which is pretty encouraging!

Leave a Reply

