Which Book Best Sums Up the Christian Faith?

2 Mar

A simple question that was posed to me a week or so ago. But a decidedly difficult one to answer I reckon.

The two I’ve plumped for are Colossians and Titus.

I think I’ve made my mind up based on my favourite gospel articulations (in which case Colossians wins hands down).

So I was wondering which books you’d choose and which criteria you’d use to choose them.

Either vote in the poll or leave a comment:

7 Responses to “Which Book Best Sums Up the Christian Faith?”

  1. Larry 02/03/2010 at 1:08 pm #

    Romans, John, Genesis is my threefold answer.

    • sammydaviesjr 02/03/2010 at 1:53 pm #

      Any rationàl behind that one young Larry?

      (additionally for your entertainment, the question originated from a certain church in Bath)

  2. dave bish 02/03/2010 at 5:20 pm #

    Galatians and the Song of Songs.

    Bath?

    • sammydaviesjr 02/03/2010 at 6:59 pm #

      Yep, it’s a lovely little town in England. A bit south of Bristol.

  3. Larry 02/03/2010 at 6:51 pm #

    HTCD – Holy Trinity Combe DOwn, – I listened to the sermon on podcast. I like Bish’s answer… but not enough to leave Romans or John behind… 😦

  4. Larry 02/03/2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Rational – Romans is the NT systematic theology. John is probably the deepest of all the Gospels, and Genesis has sooo much in it in terms of setting the scene for God’s big picture…. But that is a young and naive opinion, I may well change my mind tomorrow!

  5. Gilo 05/03/2010 at 6:18 pm #

    Part of me wants to say Acts mainly because it shows how the early churched lived out what they believe and I think living out the Christian faith is the best way to describe the Christian faith to a lost world.

    P.S. Is there really a church in Bath called Holy Trinity COMbE DOWN? Cos if there is…LOL!

Leave a Reply

