Getting Ready for New Word Alive:2010

12 Mar

So the time for another round of New Word Alive is fast approaching and I’ve been thinking about how best to prepare.

After a little thought last year I was a little critical of the usual attitude of, “I really loved NWA because of the great teaching.” (So great all you could note was that you weren’t challenged at all?!?)

So I thought it only fair to honestly assess what I’m expecting to gain from going and what I can do to make the most of it.

1) Cover the week in prayer

How often do we approach opportunities for real learning, challenge and growth and earnestly seek God to transform us through it? Do we attend our Sunday mornings just hoping to enjoy the message or to meet with the living God?

Additionally we should be praying for the various speakers as they prepare. Praying that they wont just be preparing safe messages that will get people mumbling platitudes about ‘good teaching’ or ‘sound exposition’ but that they’d be preparing unsafe messages that communicate the challenges of the Word of God (which can never be considered safe).

2) Plan my attendance

Last year I wasn’t really in the loop about what was on offer, what to expect and what to go to. I ended up missing session I might really have enjoyed and going to things/wasting time I probably shouldn’t have.

So this year, as soon as it’s available, I’m getting hold of a running order, looking into the speakers and the topics to decide what will be most profitable.

3) Don’t overload

In NWA this year there will be a lot going on. Big top meetings, seminars tracks, walks along the beach with my lovely wife, meeting up with old friends, queuing in the 1hr queue for Starbucks, the 5-a-side tournament. The list goes on.

I need to be realistic about why I’m there, how much I can take in and be effectively changed by and what really is worth dumping (I’m thinking the ridiculous ‘need’ for a Starbucks and inevitable 1st round exit from the footy).

Less is more.

4) Take the time to chat it through

As I’m going with a bunch from my church it’ll be good to chat things through. Hopefully others will have insights into things I missed and challenges I didn’t pick up on. In addition, just the opportunity to talk through a sermon/seminar will help to ingest and retain.

I don’t think that’s a comprehensive list, it’s probably not even a great start. But really it is a start at being a bit more deliberate.

Oh, and if after the time you ask me why I enjoyed/what was the best thing and all I can answer is, “Great, sound teaching.” Give me a slap.

5 Responses to “Getting Ready for New Word Alive:2010”

  1. Larry 12/03/2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I cannae wait to chat stuff through with you bro!! NWA will be off the hook. I want to be rebuked, encouraged, challenged and comforted by the teaching.

    • sammydaviesjr 12/03/2010 at 12:56 pm #

      That’s the stuff Lazzo!Good teaching that doesn’t do all those things (or at least one of those things!?!) isn’t really good teaching at all!

  2. ammanfordpastor 12/03/2010 at 1:04 pm #

    I’m looking forward to some great teaching.
    Matthew 28:18-20; Acts 2:42; Colossians 1:28; 1 Timothy 4:13
    😉

    • sammydaviesjr 12/03/2010 at 2:30 pm #

      Exactly! Each an example not only of sound teaching (which is a must) but people being radically changed by it!

      Hoorah!

  3. Larry 12/03/2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Hehhe… nice one JT!

Leave a Reply

