Is Church Boring?

5 Apr

I’m in the process (yes I know it’s slow) of reading the highly valuable book, Why we love the Church by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck.

The other night I read a paragraph that struck a chord and instantly thought it worth sharing. So here’s a snippet of that paragraph by Ted:

Church isn’t boring because we’re not showing enough film clips, or because we play organ instead of guitar. It’s boring because we neuter it of it’s importance.

Wow. How true is that. Often, especially when we’re thinking about contextualization, we can neuter the power right out of the Gospel. Quite a warning.

He continues with regards the way he hopes his life is viewed when he’s gone:

…At the end of my life, I want my friends and family to remember me as someone who battled for the gospel, who tried to mortify sin in my life, who fought hard for life, and who contended earnestly for the faith. Not just a nice guy who occasionally noticed the splendour of the mountains God created, while otherwise just trying to enjoy myself, manage my schedule, and work on my short game.

4 Responses to “Is Church Boring?”

  1. Larry 05/04/2010 at 9:29 am #

    Brilliant book – look forward to hearing more of your reflections on it!

    • sammydaviesjr 05/04/2010 at 3:52 pm #

      So far so good. It’s getting a bit samey if you know what I mean?

  2. Larry 05/04/2010 at 10:36 pm #

    Yeah kind of like the Gospel sounds the same when you’ve heard it more than 4 times yeah… ? Sorry dude, I liked the book a lot, samey or otherwise!

    • sammydaviesjr 06/04/2010 at 9:30 am #

      Im enjoying it muchly! Just think theres only so many ‘opening chapters’ one needs.

Leave a Reply

