Starting a Series…

16 Feb
I've had a cunning plan

"I've had a cunning plan"

Dear Blogger,

You’ve had an idea, you think it’s great, you see how it will help you and how it will change the wider world (web). You’re idea is a series (probably a lengthy one) that you’re going to publish at regular intervals. Fantastic.

Please, just take a minute. Allow that trembling bead of sweat, brought on by the excitement of impending sequentially, to settle on your brow. You have two options:

  1. Declare to the world in your first post that this will be a series like no other. Promise posts by the week, day or even hour. Tantalise the taste buds of all whose eyes hear of the promised series. Get the bells, whistles and anything else you can think of out for that all important ‘launch post.’
  2. Just do it. No fan fare, no promises, just what and when you can.

The majority of us will choose the former. Why? It’s a good blog post. Talking about something that’s going to happen is good filler and increases the total posts pile we sometimes judge ourselves on by 1.

Unfortunately, in those dizzying, elating moments that follow the conceptual birth of the series, we neglect to count the cost. Instead or thinking goes something like this, “Sure I can post once a week for the next year…after all, I already have the first instalment planned in my brain space.”

Alas, it very rarely lasts.

I too am guilty of this grave error in judgement. I too have written cheques with my posts that my creativity/inspiration cannot cash. I too have started a series only to leave it dangling in the obscurity of uncompletedness like a forgotten hat, left on the seat next to you on the train only to travel the journey alone until the kindness of a stranger ferries it to lost and found.

Please let’s be modest (in our proclamations not our ambitions). If we have an idea for a series that we think will benefit us and our readers, just do it. Let’s not promise a schedule that we can’t keep to, let’s not entice the hopes and dreams of a gullible world with kind words and false starts. Let’s just do it…or not…in that case no one is left disappointed.

Love from,
A hypocrite (aka Sammy Davies)

This is tongue in cheek by the way. While it is a pet hate of mine, series’ left hanging, I know that I am maybe the worst and needed to tell myself this more than I needed you to read it.
6 Responses to “Starting a Series…”

  1. DaiWool a.k.a fluffridge 16/02/2011 at 2:29 pm #

    After that post, I need a deep heat remedy for my aching heart. So true my friend. Though my pain runs deep!

    • Sammy Davies 16/02/2011 at 2:32 pm #

      It’s not a rebuke Dai, just a call for sanity! Like I said, I’ve done this too many times…

  2. Saint Jonny 16/02/2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Are you waiting for my latest instalment of John Welsey!!

    • Sammy Davies 16/02/2011 at 2:51 pm #

      Some tantalise more than others…

      …I do read them though, honest.

  3. ammanfordpastor 17/02/2011 at 3:51 pm #

    I’ve never done that!
    Ah, well, thinking about it:
    -The Olney Hymn Project
    -The Heidelberg Project
    The list goes on…
    Thanks for rebuke 😉

Leave a Reply

