Busy doing…stuff?

22 Jul

If you look below you’ll see it’s quite some time since I updated the blog, not years…but weeks.

Caleb George - One week old

Caleb George - One week old

During this period I’ve been blessed with a new baby boy, Caleb George Davies, and understandably he’s stolen my attention somewhat. He’s also been teaching me a lot about grace. I’m by no means capable of caring for him, I think it’s God’s common grace that anyone is able to raise a child. So in that sense he’s already reminded me about my utter dependence on God.

More than this though, as he whines and wriggles and seems unable even after 2 weeks to understand my sage advice, he reminds me of me and how I struggle against my heavenly father who knows infinitely more than I what’s really good for me. God help me to grow up and listen to Him.

However, also on the horizon has been my dissertation. A look into church membership under the title, “A comparative evaluation of the theology and practice of church membership in Capitol Hill Baptist, Redeemer Presbyterian and Mars Hill Seattle.” So far it’s all been reading and note taking. I’ve had highs, I’ve had lows, but am truly feeling the benefits of this study as what sounds like a narrow field is actually massively impacted by other areas of theology like ecclesiology, union with Christ and the nature of the Christian life. Expect this to dominate my posts for a while.

One Response to “Busy doing…stuff?”

  1. Jonny Raine 24/07/2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Congratulations buddy!

Leave a Reply

