Learning lessons from teaching kids

5 Feb

Last week I enjoyed the dubious privilege of standing in for Jonathan to lead a fortnightly club he runs in the local comprehensive school.  I say dubious because perhaps my greatest struggles in ministry are a) picking games to play with kids and b) remaining enthusiastic during games. I say privilege because undoubtedly the opportunity to go and spend time with these kids and explain something of the gospel is too good to pass up.

Anyway, to my point. I decided I’d play hangman with them. Nice and easy, no accessories needed that a classroom doesn’t already offer…but what could I teach them? Something that’s been knocking around my brain for a long time now is how lucky we are that God doesn’t leave us to speculate about Him but reveals Himself to us through Scripture and ultimately through Christ.

So here’s what I did. I started off giving the kids no hints. Not even the usual dashes that give clues as to the length of words. They just had to guess with no help at all. Then as the game progressed I gave more and more away. Dashes to represent letters, clues revealing themes and buy the end more than half of the letters filled in already. The lesson is that when we aren’t told anything about God our own speculation can and does lead us anywhere we want. But God has revealed Himself, most brilliantly in His Son Jesus Christ.

…This then got me thinking about Christians, those who have had their blind eyes opened, and how we continue to speculate about God. How ridiculous! It’s worrying if you ever hear someone say, “I think God…” How precious is the revelation that we have in Jesus Christ. God has revealed Himself yet we default into speculation.

I need to remember that God isn’t who I make Him, He is who Christ reveals Him to be. Remind me of that if you get the chance.

Leave a Reply

